About the LUC

The State Land Use Law (Chapter 205, Hawai`i Revised Statutes) was adopted in 1961. Establishing a framework of land use management and regulation in which all lands in the State of Hawai`i are classified into one of four land use districts.  To administer the Land Use Law the State Legislature established the Land Use Commission (Komikina Hoʻohana ʻĀina).

The Commission is composed of nine members, who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate.  One member is appointed from each of the four counties; five members are appointed at-large.  The Commissioners are non-paid volunteers who represent a cross-section of the community.

Effective July 2023 – The Officers of the Land Use Commission for FY24 are:

Chair – Dan Giovanni
First Vice Chair – Lee Ohigashi
Second Vice Chair – Michael Yamane

LUC logo